Distinctions and scholarships

IVA recognises and rewards important work in natural sciences, engineering and economics with medals, scholarships and awards. In most cases the funding for these comes from donations. 
medaljbild 2.jpg


IVA awards its Great Gold Medal in recognition of outstanding achievements in the Academy’s focus areas. In 2015 the Great Gold Medal was awarded to Honorary Doctor of Engineering Leif Östling for his extraordinary achievements as a business leader and CEO of Scania which, under his leadership, developed into a world-leading heavy commercial vehicle company.

In 2014  the Great Gold medal was awarded to Sten Gustafsson, Honorary Doctor of Economics, Technology and Medicine for his outstanding achievements as a business leader and chair of the boards of leading Swedish industrial corporations and companies, and for his significant contributions and deep commitment to Swedish research and higher education.

In 2013 the Great Gold Medal was awarded to Sune Carlsson, MSc Eng, who has for many years made important contributions at the heart of the Swedish engineering industry and, through his actions, has shown a strong commitment to engineering academic education and research.

Each year three Gold Medals may also be awarded for important achievements in the areas of, for example, invention, research, knowledge communication, technology and administration.

In 2015 Professor Mikael Eriksson received the Gold Medal for his work developing synchrotron rings at the research facilities MAX I, II, III and MAX IV (2016). The Gold Medal was also awarded to architect and professor Gert Wingårdh for his many years of excellence as an architect and creator of numerous praised and award-winning buildings in Sweden and abroad. Professor Mary Walshok received the Gold Medal for her ground-breaking achievements in promoting research-based, innovation-driven enterprise, including as founder of the global business network CONNECT.

In 2014 the Gold Medal was awarded to Jane Walerud for her achievements as a serial entrepreneur in the IT field. Professor Sture Forsén received the Gold Medal for his ground-breaking research in physical chemistry and his initiatives for transboundary research. Adjunct Professor Claes Tingvall also received the Gold Medal for his fundamental and ground-breaking work in the area of traffic safety, including establishing the well-known zero vision.

In 2013 the Gold Medal was awarded to Professor Bodil Jönsson for a lifetime of achievement as an educator in the field of natural sciences and for pioneering work in Swedish rehabilitation techniques. Professor Jonas Frisén also received the Gold Medal for his ground-breaking research in stem cell engineering. Niklas Zennström, MSc Eng. and MSc Business Econ., received the Gold Medal for his achievements as a successful entrepreneur, his outstanding leadership, creative innovative capacity and advanced technical expertise.

The Assembly of the Academy selects the medal recipients based on proposals prepared by the Medal Committee, the members of which are appointed by the Academy’s Executive Committee.

King Carl XVI Gustaf 50th Anniversary Fund

The Purpose of the Fund is to promote research, technical development and enterprise that contributes to the sustainable use of natural resources and the preservation of biodiversity. Every year the fund awards around 15 scholarships of SEK 85,000 to individuals, groups, institutions or companies active in Sweden.

The foundation’s board chooses the scholarship recipients. The candidates are nominated by individuals who are members of IVA and/or active in research and enterprise. The scholarships are announced on HM The King’s birthday and presented at a reception at the Royal Palace.

AkzoNobel Science Award Sweden

Every other year IVA presents an award in the amount of SEK 500,000 donated by AkzoNobel. The award is for outstanding and ground-breaking scientific achievements and interdisciplinary research in chemistry and materials science. The recipients are selected by a jury consisting of IVA members.

John and Margaretha Aspegren Scholarship

The John and Margaretha Aspegren Scholarship of SEK 100,000 is usually awarded every other year – one year the recipient is an engineer or scientist and the next a humanities scholar. The foundation’s board selects the scholarship recipients.

Chester Carlson Award

The Chester Carlson Award recognises individuals, institutions or organisations for research or development in the area of information science. The recipients are chosen by the foundation’s board. The amount awarded is SEK 150,000.

Chester Carlson, who is of Swedish descent, patented the first copying process to produce dry copies – the xerography method on which all modern copiers are based. He founded the now multinational corporation, Xerox.  For more information, please contact lotta.thorn@iva.se

IVA’s Scientific Journalism Award (Hans Bergström Award)

Do you know of a person active in the field of journalism who you think is a good example of a scientific approach in the media and deserves to be recognised for that? You can nominate that person for IVA’s Scientific Journalism Award – the Hans Bergström Award. For more information, please contact joakim.radstrom@iva.se/ +46 (0)73 656 76 17.

Sten Gustafsson Foundation

The Sten Gustafsson Foundation was established in 1993 by the pharmaceutical company Astra. The foundation exists to help young researchers develop their ideas and turn their research results into commercial products.

The scholarship is intended to promote Swedish entrepreneurship and leadership in research and development. It is not restricted to a specific discipline. The scholarship can be awarded to individuals or companies.

Hans Werthén Foundation

Scholarships in natural sciences, technology, leadership, economics and law.

Every year the Hans Werthén Foundation awards around 15 scholarships for a year of scientific work at the postdoc or doctoral candidate level or for MBA or LL.M studies in an international setting.

The scholarship is between SEK 100,000 and 200,000. The recipients are to be between the ages of 25 and 35 and have at least an undergraduate degree but preferably a PhD. Recipients are also to have been engaged in activity after graduation – preferable research activity or private sector experience – in which they have developed their expertise. 

The foundation’s board chooses the scholarship recipients. The board members are: Leif Johansson (Chair), Lena Treschow Torell, Marcus Wallenberg, Hans Stråberg, Marianne Feledy Werthén and Folke Hjalmers (deputy).

For information about how to apply, contact Alicia Parvin, tel. +46 (0)8 791 29 38

Wallenberg Academy Fellows

Wallenberg Academy Fellows is a career programme where the most promising young researchers in natural sciences, social sciences and the humanities receive resources for long-term development of their ventures. The programme was created by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation in close cooperation with five royal academies and sixteen Swedish universities.

The universities nominate the candidates. The academies select the most promising candidates and the final selection is made by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation. The programme is open to Swedish and foreign researchers.