Chester Carlson Research Award

The Chester Carlson Research Award goes to an individual, institution or organisation for innovative research, development or use of information science to promote scientific research in this area.

The winner is chosen by the foundation’s board which welcomes suggestions of young researchers, preferably those who have held a PhD for a few years or have equivalent, documented expertise in the area. A strong entrepreneurial spirit is among the selection criteria.

Some past recipients

  • 2021 Ali Ghodsi, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2020 Peter Hedström, Royal Institute of Technology
  • 2015 Shahrouz Yousefi, Linnaeus University
  • 2013 Carina Höglund, Linköping University
  • 2011 Rüdiger Lincke, Linnaeus University 
  • 2009 Albert Mihranyan, Uppsala University
  • 2007 Adam Dunkels, Swedish Institute of Computer Science

Board members are: Lars-Erik Eriksson, Erik Hagersten, Pontus Johnson and Gösta Lemne.

After many years and great perseverance, Swedish American and inventor Chester Carlson launched a brand new technology for copying documents and founded the Xerox corporation. His invention was easily on a par with Gutenberg’s printing press.

Photo: Courtesy of the Xerox Corporation