Gold Medals

For 100 years IVA has recognised outstanding contributions to technology, economics, business and society by awarding Gold Medals to individuals who, through outstanding work, have helped to create a better society.

IVA awards its Great Gold Medal in recognition of outstanding achievements in the Academy’s focus areas. IVA’s Gold Medals are awarded for important achievements in the areas of invention, research, knowledge communication, technology and administration.

The motivations for the 2021 selection of IVA Gold medalists are as follows:

  • Professor Sverker Sörlin is awarded the Great Gold Medal for his outstanding achievements as an innovative researcher, research director and active participant in the social discourse, and for his meaningful contributions to and deep engagement in research and higher education.
  • Sara Mazur D.Eng. is awarded the Gold Medal for her outstanding contributions as a leader for research and innovation in industry and academia, and for her strong commitment to collaboration in areas of significant importance for the development of society.
  • Professor Lars Börjesson is awarded the Gold Medal for his outstanding innovative research in the physics of condensed materials, and his innovative and dedicated leadership that has resulted in groundbreaking research infrastructure, in particular MAX IV and ESS, offering exceptional opportunities to learn about material properties that will be of great significance in future research and industry.
  • Doctor Mikael Dolsten is awarded the Gold Medal for his outstanding contributions as a researcher and leader in the pharmaceutical industry. As President of Worldwide Research and Development at Pfizer – one of the world’s largest pharmaceutical companies – he has headed the development of multiple new medicines and vaccines, most recently the successful development of a Covid-19 vaccine.

The Assembly of the Academy selects the medal recipients based on proposals prepared by the Medal Committee, the members of which are appointed by the Academy’s Executive Committee.