IVA’s award for science journalism – the Hans Bergström Award

The Award was instituted to recognise a scientific approach in the media and for excellent journalism in science, technology, innovation and entrepreneurship – in a tradition of informing, educating, in-depth explanation, integrity and a belief in the future.

The amount awarded for this annual prize is SEK 100,000.

A jury consisting of five IVA Fellows chooses the award winner. The jury is headed by IVA’s President Tuula Teeri and the other jury members are: Associate Professor Hans Bergström, former Editor-in-Chief for Dagens Nyheter; honorary Doctor of Medicine Jan-Olov Johansson, agronomist and head of Vetenskapsradion (science radio programme) for many years; Björn O. Nilsson, former President of IVA and County Governor of Norrbotten; and Professor Lena Treschow Torell, former President and Chairman of IVA.

The Award is given out annually, usually in connection with the Assembly of the Academy.

Nominate candidates for the Award

Do you know of a person or editorial staff active in journalism who you think is a good example of a scientific approach in the media and deserves to be recognised for that? You are welcome to submit your nominee for IVA’s award for science journalism – the Hans Bergström Award. The nomination period for the 2022 award is from mid-January until 1 March 2022.  

Past recipients

2021: Amina Manzoor, DN/Expressen

2020: Ingrid Carlberg, author and freelance journalist

2019: Åke Spross, Upsala Nya Tidning

2018: Katarina Gunnarsson, Sveriges Radio

2017: PM Nilsson, Dagens industri

2016: Bosse Lindquist, SVT

2015: Anders Bolling, DN

Contact information

Per Andersson
Press Officer
Phone +46 72-071 39 73