The Academy

The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) is an independent academy with a mission “ promote engineering and economic sciences and the advancement of business and industry for the benefit of society.” (IVA statutes, §1).

IVA has 1.300 elected national and international Fellows. They are decision-makers, experts and researchers from the academia, private sector and public administration. H.M King Carl XVI Gustaf is the patron and participates in IVA’s activities.

The 1.000 or so national Fellows are divided into twelve divisions. The divisions monitor, analyse and impact the development within their field by, for example, organising seminars. The Fellows are also active in IVA’s Programme Council and projects, and contribute in their area of expertise to IVA’s referral responses to the Government. 

Important components of IVA are also the Business Executives Council, with about 250 companies and organisations as members, the Innovation Leadership Programme IFG, the Student Council and the regional networks: IVA North, IVA West and IVA South.

IVA also runs a series of projects and arranges seminars throughout the country that are free-of-charge and open to all.

IVA’s highest decision-making body is the Assembly of the Academy. At the Assembly, all Fellows have the right to vote on the election of new Swedish Fellows based on proposals from the divisions.

The Academy holds four assemblies a year. The Academy also organises a public Annual Meeting.

IVA is governed by the Presidium, which is also the Academy’s board of trustees. The Council consists of seven Fellows with Marcus Wallenberg as Chair.

The Collegium of the Academy is tasked with deliberating on issues that affect and are relevant to all of the Divisions, such as statutes, work procedures and budgets, in preparation for decisions by the Presidium. The members of the Collegium are the Division Chairs, the Chairs of the three regional networks and IVA’s President. The Secretary to the Academy as well as the Chair of the Presidium and the Innovation Leadership Programme are also called upon to attend meetings.

The Academy’s twelve divisions and their focus areas

I Mechanical Engineering

Catharina Modahl Nilsson (Chair), Ingrid Jansson (Secretary)

Mechanical engineering, sciences that generate effective production of engineering products and systems. Integration of production development and manufacturing.

II Electrical Engineering

Pontus Johnson (Chair), Karin Byman (Secretary)

The electrotechnical, electronic and software engineering sciences, and matters relating to systems, plants, equipment, components and materials.

III Building and Construction

Jonas Eliasson (Chair), Staffan Eriksson (Secretary)

Engineering relating to buildings, civil construction and transportation. General issues relating to designing, planning, processes, project management, as well as energy, the environment and water resources.

IV Chemical Engineering

Michael Persson (Chair), Jan Westberg (Secretary)

Chemistry and chemical engineering. Analysing and taking initiatives in issues where chemistry-based knowledge contributes to financial and environmentally sustainable development.

V Mining and Materials

Susanne Norgren (Chair), Per Andersson (Secretary)

All stages of mining, mineral and materials engineering – from prospecting for ore and minerals, research into new materials, to the production of finished materials such as metals, ceramics and polymers.

VI Management

Fredrik Lagergren (Chair), Malin Mohr (Secretary)

Business economics, industrial economics, organisational structures and the history of engineering and economics. Matters relating to business enterprise and leadership that can contribute to the development of more efficient, competitive and innovative public and private sector organisations.

VII Basic and Interdisciplinary Engineering Sciences

Fredrik Laurell (Chair), Per Hjertén (Secretary)

The basic engineering sciences, industrial applications of engineering, and interdisciplinary engineering sciences.

VIII Forest Technology

Lena Ek (Chair), Emilie Nord (Secretary)

Forest engineering, process engineering and systems to manage raw materials and products in the forest industry. Issues with broad significance in forestry and forest industries.

IX Economics

Fredrik Sjöholm (Chair), Hampus Lindh (Secretary)

The economic sciences with a focus on economics and connections to business administration, as well as how economics and engineering intersect. Key issues relating to Sweden’s economy and the way it works.

X Biotechnology

Lotta Ljungqvist (Chair), Kristian Nilsson (Secretary)

Biotechology, food technology, medical technology, environmental technology and process engineering and their applications, particularly in basic research, the food industry/health care and agriculture/food industry. Issues relating to how to stimulate development in biotechnology.

XI Education and Research Policy

Karin Röding (Chair), Eva Lundgren (Secretary)

The education system’s content and organisation, and management of research and development at universities, research institutes and in industry. Administration of public systems and service companies, R&D support systems, research on R&D and the history of technology and industry.

XII Information Technology

Ulf Wahlberg (Chair), Linda Olsson (Secretary)

Computer science, information technology and telecommunications, and their applications and significance for the development of society.

International Fellows

To be elected as an International Fellow, it is required that the person is resident outside Sweden, has made outstanding efforts in areas of the academy's activities and has shown particular interest in developing contacts with Swedish research and business. IVA has 278 International Fellows, as of 2022. A selection of international Fellows are Subra Suresh, Emmanuelle Charpentier and Michael Porter . 

Honorary Fellows

The Academy can appoint up to 15 Honorary Fellows. As Honorary Fellows, IVA may appoint individuals who “through their work or by other means have contributed greatly to the promotion of the Academy’s objectives”. The Honorary Fellow medal is the Academy’s foremost distinction. IVA’s Honorary Fellows are Arne Wittlöv, Lena Treschow Torell, HRH Prince Daniel, Peter Wallenberg Jr, Jan-Eric Sundgren and Mary Walshok.

Contact information

Johan Weigelt
Secretary to the Academy, Executive Vice President
Phone +46 8-791 29 44