Election of seven new IVA members

During the most recent Assembly of the Academy seven individuals were elected into the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, IVA. They include Ylva Fältholm, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gävle, Jan Secher, President and CEO of Perstorp and Professor Charlotta Turner of Lund University.

Torbjörn Holmström was elected into IVA’s Mechanical Engineering division. Torbjörn is Senior Advisor in research and development at AB Volvo. He has many years of experience within the Volvo Group, working primarily with research and development. For 15 years he was the Volvo Group’s CTO and secured Volvo’s technical position in commercial vehicles globally. Torbjörn is involved in IVA’s Business Executives Council and IVA West, and is Vice Chairman of Chalmers University of Technology where he graduated with an MSc in Mechanical Engineering.

“Being elected into the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences as an engineer is a recognition of contributions made to Sweden’s development and success. For that I am very proud. I look forward to being able to contribute to IVA’s activities,” says Torbjörn Holmström.

Ylva Fältholm was elected into IVA’s Mechanical Engineering division. She has served as Vice-Chancellor at the University of Gävle since autumn 2017. Ylva has held several leading academic positions at Luleå University of Technology (LTU), including as Dean of the Faculty of Science and Technology. As a researcher she has developed close partnerships with organisations within the public and private sectors. Ylva Fältholm has an MSc in Engineering from LTU with a focus on industrial production environments.

“I feel honoured to have been elected and look forward to being part of IVA’s important work. I hope to be able to contribute my experience as a researcher through my current role as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gävle. Education, research and cooperation with industry and the community are the university’s core areas and I hope to bring my perspectives on this to my work within IVA,” says Ylva Fältholm. 

Ödgärd Andersson was elected into IVA’s Mechanical Engineering division. Ödgärd is Vice President of Volvo Cars where she heads the company’s development of self-driving cars, user interfaces and active safety systems. She has also had a long career at Ericsson, including as division head of the company’s California office. Ödgärd Andersson has an MSc in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering from Chalmers University of Technology.

“I’m delighted and enthusiastic about the assignment. People’s expectations for technical solutions are increasingly based on their experiences from completely different areas. IVA’s strength is bringing together experts from different industries and providing a forum for them to share their experiences for the benefit of society, industry and individuals,” says Ödgärd Andersson.

Ulrica Edlund was elected into IVA’s Chemical Engineering division. Since 2016 she has worked as a professor at the Department of Fibre and Polymer Technology at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH). Ulrica has published over 80 articles in scientific journals and was named “Outstanding Young European Scientist Forming the Future European network.” She was a participant in IVA’s Mentor4Research programme and in 2000 received a postdoc scholarship for studies in the USA from IVA’s Hans Werthén Foundation. She has an MSc in Chemical Engineering and received her PhD in 2000 at KTH.

“IVA is Sweden’s most important actor in the intersection of academia, industry and society. I’m extremely proud to be able to be part of this and look forward to working with a constant eye on future challenges.”

Jan Secher was elected into IVA’s Chemical Engineering division. Jan is President and CEO of Perstorp and has held several positions in the chemicals industry – both internationally and in Sweden. He has also had a long career at ABB and is a member of the boards of the European Chemical Industry Council (CEFIC), its Swedish equivalent IKEM and of the medtech company Elekta. Jan Secher has an MSc in Engineering with a focus in Industrial Economics from the Institute of Technology at Linköping University.

“For me IVA has always been a symbol of the highest quality in driving issues in the borderland between technology in a broad sense, economics and social development. Being elected as a member is a great honour. I have great respect and curiosity as I look forward to bringing my broad industrial and international experience with me as I participate and contribute to the Academy’s future development,” says Jan Secher.

Charlotta Turner was elected into IVA’s Chemical Engineering division. Charlotta is a professor in Analytical Chemistry at Lund University. Her research focuses in particular on new, environmentally sustainable processes for the extraction and analysis of valuable substances from residual products from the food, agricultural and forest industries. She received her PhD in Analytical Chemistry at Lund University in 2001.

“I’m honoured to have been elected into IVA and I hope I can contribute my commitment to green and sustainable chemistry. I look forward to many interesting discussions about how we can raise interest in chemistry among the public in Sweden,” says Charlotta Turner.

Zhenya Liu was elected as an international member. He is the Chairman of the Global Energy Interconnection Development and Cooperation Organization and of the China Electricity Council. Zhenya Liu has significant experience of technical innovation, design and management. He was instrumental in the breakthrough and technical application of ultra-high voltage (UHV) transmission technologies. Zhenya Liu is also one of the initiators of the Global Energy Interconnection (GEI). He is the author of the publications China Power and Energy, Ultra High Voltage AC & DC Grid and Global Energy Interconnection.

Contact information

Johan Weigelt
Secretary to the Academy, Executive Vice President
Phone +46 8-791 29 44