New Fellows elected

39 prominent researchers and experts in the private and public sectors have been inducted as new Fellows of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA). The new Swedish and International Fellows will further strengthen and broaden IVA’s knowledge and expertise in areas of the engineering and economic sciences that are important for the future and for the advancement of business and industry.

The inductees include Northvolt Chief Environmental Officer Emma Nehrenheim, Martin Andersson, Professor of Applied Surface Chemistry at Chalmers University of Technology, Deputy Governor of the Riksbank Anna Breman and Nina Cromnier, Director General of the Swedish Radiation Safety Authority. (Photo: Northvolt, Chalmers, Riksbanken Sandra Birgersdotter Ek and Hans Alm, Alm&Lindberg AB.)

“The collective experience and expertise of our new Fellows will be a fantastic asset for IVA. Digitalisation and sustainable development in particular are areas that will be reinforced. They are key areas of expertise to meet future challenges,” says Tuula Teeri, President of IVA.

New Fellows are inducted once a year

IVA is an easily accessible expert body, independent of special interests, ideologies and party politics. We believe in and work to promote the capacity of people to positively impact society through technology and the engineering and economic sciences. IVA was founded more than a century ago and is the world’s oldest academy of engineering sciences. IVA brings together the knowledge and experience of some 1,300 inducted Fellows and 250 companies. The Academy’s 12 divisions nominate new Fellows. The inductees are then selected by the Assembly of the Academy, IVA’s highest decision-making body.

IVA’s Mechanical Engineering division

Jenny Larsson, CEO of Schneider Electric Sweden, member of the board of IVA´s Business Executives Council.

Fredrik Magnusson, Co-founder & Head of Innovation, Roder.

Roland Larsson, Professor of Machine Elements at Luleå University of Technology.

IVA’s Electrical Engineering division

Emma Nehrenheim, Professor of Environmental Engineering at Mälardalen University and Chief Environmental Officer at Northvolt.

Lina Bertling Tjernberg, Professor of Power Grid Technology at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

IVA’s Building and Construction division

Anna-Johanna Klasander, Artistic Professor at Chalmers University of Technology and Director of R&D at White Arkitekter AB.

Kajsa Hessel, CEO of Svensk Byggtjänst.

Mats Hederos, business owner, former CEO of AMF Fastigheter.

IVA’s Chemical Engineering division

Kimberly Dick Thelander, Professor of Material Science at Lund University.

Martin Andersson, Professor of Applied Surface Chemistry at Chalmers University of Technology.

Nina Cromnier, Director General of the Swedish Radiation Safety Authority.

IVA’s Mining and Materials division

Johanna Rosén, Professor of Materials Physics at Linköping University.

Maria Åstrand, Vice President Cathode Active Material at Northvolt.

IVA’s Management division

Bengt Domeij, Professor of Private Law at Uppsala University.

Dennis Nobelius, Vice President at Polestar.

Maja Fjaestad, Associate Professor of the History of Technology at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) and researcher at Karolinska Institutet.

Nina Wormbs, Professor of the History of Technology at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

IVA’s Basic and Interdisciplinary Engineering Sciences division

Dan Henningson, Professor of Fluid Mechanics at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

Christel Bergström, Professor of Molecular Pharmaceutics at Uppsala University

Kenneth Bodin, CEO and founder of Algoryx Simulation AB.

IVA’s Forest Technology division

Johan Elvnert, Secretary General of Forest-based Sector Technology Platform (FTP).

Maria Nordström, Process Manager, Digitalisation, Forestry Research Institute of Sweden (Skogforsk).

IVA’s Economics division

Anna Breman, Deputy Governor of the Riksbank.

Fredrik N G Andersson, Associate Professor of Economics at School of Economics and Management, Lund University.

Louise Lindh, President and member of the board of Fastighets AB LE Lundberg, member of the bord of L E Lundbergföretagen AB, Holmen AB and Hufvudstaden AB.

Torbjörn Becker, Director of the Institute of Transition Economics at the Stockholm School of Economics.

IVA’s Biotechnology division

Håkan Björklund, Chair of the Board of SOBI.

Rikard Landberg, Professor of Food and Health at Chalmers University of Technology.

IVA’s Education and Research Policy division

Annika Olsson, Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Engineering (LTH) at Lund University.

Henrik Friman, Managing Director and Partner at Michaël Berglund Board Value.

Roger Berg, Director of Technology Management at Saab Kockums.

IVA’s Information Technology division

Charlotte Karlsson, Head of Division, Digital Systems at RISE.

Per Hammarlund, Computer Architect at Apple.

Pernilla Jonsson, Head of Ericsson Consumer & Industry Lab at Ericsson Research.

International Fellows

Anders Sandberg (United Kingdom), Senior Research Fellow, Future of Humanity Institute at Oxford University.

Donald B. Kayne (Canada), Chair and CEO of Canfor Corporation.

Per Liljenberg (USA), Deputy Director, Portfolio Management at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Nelson Torto (Botswana), PhD, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Communications, Knowledge and Technology in Botswana.

Sridhar Seetharaman (USA), Professor and Vice Dean at Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering, Arizona State University.

Contact information

Per Andersson
Press Officer
Phone +46 72-071 39 73

Privacy policy