New top names elected into IVA

The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) is strengthening and broadening its pool of expertise with the addition of 41 new Fellows, seven of whom are International Fellows. The inductees include: Spotify’s Chief Research & Development Officer, Gustav Söderström; MIT professor Max Tegmark; President and CEO of Epiroc, Helena Hedblom; and Susanna Campbell, industrial advisor to Northvolt and Norrsken.

“The newly elected Fellows are prominent researchers, experts and decision-makers from academia and the private and public sectors. We are also increasing the number of Fellows who are active in the north of Sweden, which I’m delighted about given the rapid development taking place there now. The collective experience and expertise of the new Fellows will be a fantastic asset for us and for our mission to improve society,” says Tuula Teeri, President of IVA.

IVA’s Mechanical Engineering division

Helena Hedblom, President and CEO of Epiroc.

Sofia Ritzén, Professor in Integrated Product Development, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

Lars Stenqvist, Chief Technology Officer, Volvo Group.

IVA’s Electrical Engineering division

Mikael Dahlgren, Head of Corporate Research, ABB. 

Elena Fersman, Head of Global AI Accelerator, Ericsson

IVA’s Building and Construction division

Christina Lindbäck, environment and sustainability consultant, Hållbar rådgivning Lindbäck & CO AB.

Lars Marcus, Professor of Urban Design, Chalmers University of Technology.

Johan Silfwerbrand, Professor in Bridge Construction, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

IVA’s Chemical Engineering division

Anders Fröberg, Director Manufacturing Excellence, Borealis Sweden.

Kasper Moth-Poulsen, Professor in nano-chemistry, Chalmers University of Technology.

Azra Selimovic, Director Electric Motor Drive System, Volvo Trucks.

IVA’s Mining and Materials division

Jenny Greberg, Associate Professor, Mining and Rock Engineering, Luleå University of Technology.

Klas Forsström, President and CEO, Munters.

IVA’s Management division

Susanna Campbell, industrial advisor, Northvolt and Norrsken.

Henrik Henriksson, CEO, H2 Green Steel.

Therese Mattsson, Director General, Swedish Coast Guard.

Mikael Pawlo, Head of Growth, Bokio.

IVA’s Basic and Interdisciplinary Engineering Sciences division

Sandra Di Rocco, Professor in Mathematics, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

Anna Rathsman, Director General, Swedish National Space Board.

Lars-Erik Wernersson, Professor in Electrical and Information Technology, Lund University.

IVA’s Forest Technology division

Viveka Beckeman, Director General, Swedish Forest Industries Federation.

Daniel Söderberg, Professor in Fluid Mechanics, Director, Treesearch, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

IVA’s Economics division

Peter Elam Håkansson, Founder, Chair, East Capital

Sven Hagströmer, Founder, Partner and Chair, Sven Hagströmer Fondkomission, Hagströmer & Qviberg, Avanza Bank Holding, Creades.

Katarina Martinson, Chair, Indutrade and Lundbergstiftelserna.

Annika Winsth, Chief Economist, Nordea Bank.

IVA’s Biotechnology division

Elisabeth Björk, Global Head of Late-Stage Development and SVP, AstraZeneca, Gothenburg.

Catarina Flyborg, Vice President, Cell & Gene Therapy, Cytiva

IVA’s Education and Research Policy division

Helene Hellmark Knutsson, County Governor, Västerbotten County.

Elisabet Nihlfors, Professor Emeritus in Pedagogy, Uppsala University.

Viktor Öwall, Professor in Integrated Electronic Systems, Faculty of Engineering (LTH), Pro Vice-Chancellor, Lund University.

IVA’s Information Technology division

Sonja Buchegger, Professor in Computer Science, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

Simin Nadjm-Tehrani, Professor, Department of Computer and Information Science, Linköping University.

Gustav Söderström, Chief Research and Development Officer, Spotify.

International Fellows

Linda Darling-Hammond, Professor Emeritus, Stanford University, Chair and President & CEO, Learning Policy Institute, USA.

Mikael Hagström, board appointments including AI Forum, PlanetSmartCity, World Economic Forum, USA.

Yuko Harayama, Professor Emeritus, Tohoku University, Executive Director, RIKEN, Japan.

Kinam Kim, Chairman of the board, National Academy of Engineering of Korea/ Chairman of Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Samsung Electronics, South Korea.

Hideo Ohno, Professor, President, Tohoku University, Japan.

Barbro Osher, Honorary Consul of Sweden, USA.

Max Tegmark, Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA.

New Fellows are inducted once a year

The Academy’s 12 divisions propose new Fellows. The Assembly of the Academy – IVA’s highest division-making body – then selects the inductees.

Contact information

Per Andersson
Press Officer
Phone +46 72-071 39 73