New top names elected into IVA

The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) is boosting its expertise and knowledge base with the addition of 42 new Fellows, including seven International Fellows. Among those being elected are: Johan Kuylenstierna, Vice Chair of the Swedish Climate Policy Council, Johan Forsell, CEO of Investor, Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn, Vice-Chancellor of Luleå University of Technology and Andreas Schleicher, Director at OECD.

Among those being inducted are Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn, Johan Kuylenstierna, Johan Forssell and Andreas Schleicher.

“IVA’s mission is to improve society through the promotion of the engineering and economic sciences and the advancement of business and industry. Knowledgeable and talented Fellows are crucial in order for the Academy to fullfil that mission. The recently elected Fellows – top names in the business community and recognised researchers – are a fantastic resource for the Academy”, says Tuula Teeri, President of IVA.

The following Fellows were elected at the Assembly of the Academy on 1 December 2020.

IVA Mechinical Engineering Division

Cecilia Larsson, Vice President and Head of R&D, Saab Kockums

Håkan Buskhe, CEO of FAM AB.

Jonas Gustavsson, CEO of AFRY.

IVA Electrical Engineering Division

Björn Ekelund, Research Director, Ericsson.

Sonja Berlijn, Senior Vice President R&D, Statnett.

IVA Building and Construction Division

Kerstin Lindberg Göransson, CEO of Akademiska Hus.

Olle Samuelson, Research and Innovation Strategist at lQ Samhällsbyggnad.

Thomas Erséus, CEO of Almega AB and Director of Almega Service Associations

IVA Chemical Engineering Division

Emma Sparr, Professor of Physical Chemisty at Lund University.

Ulf Ellervik, Professor of Bioorganic Chemistry at Lund University.

Örjan Gustafsson, Professor of Biogeochemistry at Stockholm University.

IVA Mining and Materials Division

Eva Lindh-Ulmgren, Director Materials Design, Strategic Research at Sandvik Materials Technology.

Jan Moström, President and CEO of LKAB.

IVA Management Division

Per Olofsson, Chairman of the Board of Climeon AB.

Per Wassén, senior advisor and professional board member, formerly President and CEO of PowerCell Sweden AB.

Ulrika Kolsrud, President Health and Medical Solutions, Essity AB.

Ulla Eriksson-Zetterquist, Director, Gothenburg Research lnstitute.

IVA Basic and Interdisciplinary Engineering Sciences Division

Amy Loutfi, Professor of Information Technology at Örebro University.

Ann Wennerberg, Vice Dean, Sahlgrenska Academy, Gothenburg University.

Mikael Karlsson, Associate Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Philosopy and History, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)

IVA Forest Technology Division

Alice Kempe, Chair of the Kempe Foundation

Johan Kuylenstierna, Vice Chair, Swedish Climate Policy Council.

Sören Petersson, CEO of Holmen Forest AB.

IVA Economics Division

Anna Söderblom, PhD Econ., Stockholm School of Economics.

Daniel Waldenström, Professor of Economics at the Institute for Industrial Economics (IFN).

Johan Forssell, President and CEO of Investor.

Maria Bratt Börjesson, Professor of Economics, Swedish National Road and Transport Research Institute.

IVA Biotechnology Division

Eugen Steiner, Partner HealthCap and professional board member.

Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, Professor of Biology and Biotechnology, Chalmers University of Technology.

IVA Education and Research Policy Division

Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn, Vice-Chancellor, Luleå University of Technology.

Maria Knutson Wedel, Vice-Chancellor, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Per-Arne Andersson, Head of the Education and Labour Market Division, Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions.

IVA Information Technology Division

Cecilia Magnusson Sjöberg, Professor of Law and Information Technology, Faculty of Law, Stockholm University.

Magnus Frodigh, Head of Research at Ericsson.

Virginia Dignum, Professor at Umeå University and Scientific Director of WASP-HS.

International Fellows

Andreas Schleicher, Director for the Directorate of Education and Skills, OECD, France.

Diego Pavia, CEO, EIT lnnoEnergy, Spain.

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President of Stanford University, USA.

Marie-Laure Salles, Director at The Graduate Institute, Geneva, Switzerland

Mung Chiang, John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering and Roscoe H. George Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University, USA.

Ola Källenius, CEO of Daimler and Chairman of the Board of Management of Mercedes-Benz AG, Germany.

Yoshiyuki Sankai, Professor at the University of Tsukuba, President & CEO and founder of Cyberdyne, Japan.


New Fellows are inducted once a year

Each of the divisions nominates individuals to be elected as new Fellows. IVA’s highest division-making body – the Assembly of the Academy where all National Fellows have the right to vote – then makes the decision on the elections.

Contact information

Per Andersson
Press Officer
Phone +46 72-071 39 73