Nine new IVA members

Sweden’s youngest centenarian – the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) – is boosting its expertise and knowledge through the addition of nine new members, including three international members.

IVA brings together the expertise of more than 1,200 Academy members and 250 companies.

“It’s in meetings between people that new ideas and knowledge emerge. Both prominent figures from the corporate world and recognised researchers are among the new members we are now welcoming into IVA,” says Tuula Teeri, President of IVA.

The following new inductees were presented at IVA’s Assembly of the Academy in June:

Elna Holmberg was inducted into IVA’s Electrical Engineering division.
Vice President, Volvo Group Electromobility

Elna Holmberg has many years of development experience in the automotive sector and is very familiar with the conditions and challenges in the industry. Since autumn 2018 she has been coordinating electromobility initiatives at AB Volvo. Previously she served as Director of the Swedish Electromobility Centre focusing, among other things, on research and development of electric and hybrid vehicles. 

Andreas Regnell was inducted into IVA’s Electrical Engineering division.
Senior Vice President of Strategic Development, Vattenfall AB

At Vattenfall Andreas Regnell has had a strong hand in developing the company in a challenging market. In this role he has also provided input for and has participated in discussions that led to the energy agreement between five of the parties in the Riksdag. Before he came to Vattenfall in 2010 he was a management consultant, partner and shareholder in Boston Consulting Group.

Eva Pétursson was inducted into IVA’s Mining and Materials division.
Executive Vice President, Research and Innovation, SSAB

Eva Pétursson has served as research leader at SSAB Knowledge Service Center and Head of Strategic R&D for the company. In 2018 she joined SSAB’s executive management. Eva Pétursson has a PhD in Steel Structures from Luleå University of Technology and has worked as an assistant professor conducting research, teaching and supervising Master’s degree students at the same university. She was awarded the Silverbalken from the Swedish Institute of Steel Construction.

Pontus Sjöberg was inducted into IVA’s Mining and Materials division.
Managing Director, Swerim

Pontus Sjöberg is the first Managing Director of the newly formed Swerim research institute. After receiving his PhD at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) he has held several top positions in academia and industry – both in Sweden and abroad. He has, for example, served as head of metallurgy research at Sandvik Materials Technology and has held senior positions at SSAB. During his career, Pontus Sjöberg has been committed to research and talent supply issues.

Erik Lindahl was inducted into IVA’s Basic and Interdisciplinary Engineering Sciences division
Professor, Stockholm University/KTH, Science for Life Laboratory

A key aspect of Erik Lindahl’s biophysics research success is that he has developed some of the most used software in the world for calculating how proteins move and interact with other molecules, such as pharmaceuticals. He worked as a member of a number of prominent research teams in the Netherlands, the USA and France before establishing his own research team in Stockholm. He has been recognised with multiple important awards for his research.

Johan Åkerman was inducted into IVA’s Basic and Interdisciplinary Engineering Sciences division.
Professor, University of Gothenburg

Johan Åkerman has built up Sweden’s leading research team in applied spintronics, first at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) and then at the University of Gothenburg. He has achieved international success in academic research and as Senior Staff Scientist at the Motorola Corporate Research Laboratory. He also founded companies and has been recognised with awards, including the Göran Gustafsson Prize in Physics

International members

Björn Birgisson, Professor at Texas A&M University, USA was inducted as an international member of IVA.

Björn Birgisson is currently an Eminent Professor at Texas Engineering Experiment Station, TEES, at Texas A&M University. He received his PhD in Geomechanics at the University of Minnesota and now has 10 years of academic leadership experience, eight of which in senior positions at several US and British universities. Björn Birgisson has also held prominent positions at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), including as Vice Rector with responsibility for the university’s research and innovation strategy.

Kari Jordan, Chairman of Outokumpu Oyj, Finland, was elected as an international member of IVA.

Kari Jordan has the honorary title of “bergsråd” (mining counsellor, granted to leading figures in industry) and is Chairman of stainless steel company Outokumpu Oyj. He has also served as Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the pension insurance company Varma. He served as CEO of the Metsä Group from 2006 to 2018. He was a member of the Central Chamber of Commerce of Finland, 2007– 2011 and was thereafter its Chairman for four years. He has been a member and Vice Chairman of the Confederation of Finnish Industries. Kari Jordan has a MSc in Economics. He is a member of the boards of numerous foundations and non-profit organisations.

Lou Yongqi, professor, Tongji University, was inducted as an international member of IVA. 

Lou Yongqi, Professor, Dean, Tongji University, College of Design and Innovation, Shanghai, China. Professor Lou has focused on developing education programmes and research in sustainable design and social innovation. He is a pioneer in design-driven innovation – an area that combines design, business and technology. His work involves collaboration in both the public and private sectors. He has an extensive network of contacts in both China and internationally.

Contact information

Helena Mehra
Communications Manager
Phone +46 8-791 29 39